I say this every single month, but it really does whizz by very quickly. November was a blur of work, essays, and shows, and the festive season is approaching fast – which hopefully gives me a break to relax and slow down! So, here’s November…

Dead Funny

I was invited by the StageDoor app, along with other #LDNTheatreBloggers, to attend the revival of this dark comedy at the Vaudeville Theatre. I took my flatmate Josie, and it’s clear to say we had a whale of a time. You can see my full review here, but in short: it’s an incredibly funny show which reminisces about past comedians, but is also painful and has a sadder tone within.

My First Barbican Review!

As mentioned in my last ICYMI, I’ve been chosen as one of four Young Reviewers for the Barbican Centre. In November, I saw ‘Wordless’, a jazz/comic book hybrid concert by Art Spiegelman and Phillip Johnston, which I enjoyed. Making a video review was very different to writing one, and though it was challenging I can’t wait to make more. You can see my review on the Barbican YouTube channel below:

Half A Sixpence

Again, thanks to #LDNTheatreBloggers, I was so incredibly lucky to attend the opening night of ‘Half A Sixpence’, Cameron Mackintosh’s revival and reworking of the classic ’60s musical. I went with fellow bloggers Olivia and Charlotte, and we even managed to be bin the background of the blue carpet arrivals, which was streamed live on the show’s Facebook page. I suppose, technically speaking, I had a picture with Cameron Mackintosh himself? I also bumped into Christopher Biggins which was just plain weird as well as standing mere centimetres from Barbara Windsor.
really enjoyed the show, and I’ve been playing the soundtrack constantly – I just wish I could dance like Charlie Stemp! You can read my full review here.

half-a-sixpence

I Was in a Play!

As mentioned in my last ICYMI, I was cast in a short play, ‘Us and Them’, as part of my university theatre company’s Location Festival. ‘Us and Them’ is a play written by David Campton and is an incedibly basic script about people wanting to be in the same place but only with their own group; thus a wall is built and SHIT HAPPENS. It was such a fun, strange piece to be a part of and it involved a lot of devising, dancing, and a powder paint fight at the end which got pretty messy! The cast and director, Hugo, were such fun to work with and I had the best time.  Also, a huge congratulations to all the other casts of the five other plays: Made in Bangkok, Another Country, Slight Dleay, Eve, and Moonfleece.

The Last Five Years

After booking my tickets back in August, and waiting whilst hearing so many good things about this show, I finally got to see it! Myself and my friend Ash traveled to the St James’ Theatre on the last weekend of November to watch the show and were lucky enough to have front row seats (I almost died when Johnathan Bailey sand right at me, I’ll admit). It was a fantastic show and I really liked the direction and staging, being curious how this would be achieved considering the strange timeline. You can read my review here (it should be published later this week).

tl5y

So that was November in bullet point form! December is set to be yet another busy month, but in terms of the world of theatre things are calming down a bit – which will hopefully mean I can write more posts which aren’t just reviews! 

 

 

 

 

