I know I’m a bit late in doing this, as it is coming to mid October, but I thought I’d do a blog round-up of what I’ve done (theatre-wise) in September. I’m thinking of making this a monthly thing – what do you think?
If you follow me on Instagra you can see my September in photos, as I upload so often there – my username is @daniella_ann28.

Being a West End VIP

My first full day of being back living in London, and of course I’m at the theatre! I was really lucky to win the StageFaves competition for front row VIP seats to ‘Bumblescratch’, a new musical by Robert Sherman. I went with my friend Jamie, and we got to meet Mr Sherman as well as attend the after-party!

Two Show Day!

Firstly I day-seated for the first time for Matilda with my pals Conor, Katy, and Jamie! I had a phenomenal time, and I can’t wait to go again soon – the early morning was definitely worth it!

Then in the evening the BoxOffice asked me to review Kenneth Branagh’s The Entertainer so I shimmied over to the Garrick Theatre to see it. The show was was okay, but on the upside it meant I got to tick off seeing another Harry Potter actor on stage off my list! Branagh played Lockhart in Chamber of Secrets and is the third HP actor I’ve seen in a show, after Fiennes and Melling.

garrick

I went to the National Theatre twice

The National is definitely one of my favourite theatres in London. As a theatre complex, there’s loads of things always going on, they have a fab range of books in their gift shop, and with the Entry Pass scheme, why would I turn down tickets for ANY seat for a fiver?!
So as a treat after my exams last year, I booked to see two shows on my return to London – Brecht’s The Threepenny Opera, and Ratigan’s The Deep Blue Sea, which couldn’t have been any more different from each other. Both were absolutely FABULOUS shows, and I gave them both excellent reviews. Once again, the National delivered spectacularly.

I went to my first Theatre Bloggers event!

Since coming back to London, now with a blog, I joined the wonderful initiative called London Theatre Bloggers, which helps gain you press tickets to shows and events in order for you to review them, network, and meet fellow bloggers! I was very lucky to be invited the the press launch of An American in Paris, which is flying from Broadway to the West End in March. Not only did I get to be in the same room as Darcey Bussell, but I got to interview some of the cast, too! It was such a phenomenal experience, and I met some great bloggers who I hope to see again soon! You can see my launch post here, and my BTS here! Make sure to follow @theatreblogs on Twitter, too!

I FINALLY saw Kinky Boots!

After entering the TodayTix app’s lottery for MONTHS, I finally won front row seats to see Olivier-Award winning musical Kinky Boots! It was also great to see the new cast, too. I had a FAB-U-LOUS night with old friend Francessca, and my review should be up in the next week or so! The show is infectiously happy with fierce choreography, lots of laughs and even more heart, and I recommend anyone to go and watch it, no matter what your reservations are!

kinky.jpg

 

SO – those were my main theatrical moments of September! It’s been a busy busy month as I settle back into uni, in a new flat, and getting back to London-speed again! What was your favourite blog post of mine this month? Is there any I missed? Let me know!!

